Paper or Envirosax?

I love the idea of saving the world one plastic bag at a time. But not until I was recently swept off my feet by Envirosax did I see a real (and easy) way to do this.

Sure, there are other reusable bags. But sometimes those big, boxy bags are such a hassle! I either can’t get them untangled from each other, don’t feel like dealing with them, or I forget them by accident altogether. And that’s not helping solve this dilema:

  • Approx. 380 billion plastic bags are used in the United States every year. That’s more than 1,200 bags per US resident, per year.
  • An estimated 12 million barrels of oil is required to make that many plastic bags.
  • Americans consume more than 10 billion paper bags per year. Approximately 14 million trees are cut down every year for paper bag production.

My favorite aspect of the bags is they roll up and snap to 4″ by 1.5″ (about the size of a cellphone) and then open up to a roomy 19.5″ by 16.5″. They can each hold up to 44 pounds! Given how convenient, cute, and good for the earth (think how long you’ll have them) they are, the $8.50 price tag is quite a bargain.  The only hard decision is choosing what patterns to purchase. They have a collection of simple-patterned, retro bags:

Or the dude bags for guys craving a manly pattern (although I’m totally digging the argyle):

Black and white patterns for something chic and sophisticated:

Or bright and fun bags for something a bit more punchy:


I picked out these two oh-so-stylish bags that I carry in my purse at all times. No more walking up to the counter embarrassed that I forgot my bags in the car again!

Oh, and if I couldn’t convince you, maybe this pic of Justin Timberlake lovin’ on his bright green Envirosaks will do the trick. Happy earth saving!

~amb

Photos and disturbing bag facts courtesy of Envirosak.

I don’t sell these products or make any money if you buy one, but I think it will change your life. Order one at envirosak.com.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Showalter on January 8, 2010 at 11:51 am

    I love my retro style Envirosak! It really is a great buy. Thanks for adding the photo of Justin Timberlake–I now will use mine more often =)

  2. Aren’t they so handy? I wish I would have learned about them sooner! I knew the photo of Justin would help! Ha.

Leave a Reply

