Snuggle Up

Who can resist the cute Snuggle Bear who gently hugs softness and cozy smells into freshly washed laundry? Clean Laundry is even a candle and car freshener scent these days, so you know it’s pleasant to the nose. Despite the pretty scent, fabric is softener is something I’ve chosen to no longer have against my skin 24 hours a day.

The three main reasons for my decision are these: the strong chemicals in fabric softener are bad for me, bad for my dryer, and eliminate the absorbency of my fabrics.

#1) Bad for me

Fabric softeners are are some of the most toxic products made for household use. They contain chemicals like chloroform, benzyl acetate, and pentane that are known to cause cancer and/or damage lungs, brains, and nerves. These chemicals become even more dangerous when heated in a clothes dryer!

How can products with innocent names like Soft Ocean Mist, Summer Orchard and April Fresh be so dangerous? These chemicals are so pungent they require 50 times as much fragrance to cover up their stench. That’s the “good” smell I used to love about my fabric softener!

#2) Bad for my dryer

Fabric softener prevents my washing machine or dryer from working properly. The oils in the fabric softener leave a sticky residue on dryer components like heat sensors that result in burn out of the sensor and no heat. The sticky residue also collects on the drum and moisture sensors, sending them out of calibration.

#3) Bad for absorbency

Fabric softeners shouldn’t be used on your Norwex products because fabric softeners are designed to coat the fabric so the fragrance remains in the fabric to be released over time from the material. This coating on your clothes eliminates whatever absorbency the fabric had. Norwex product or not, if you want something to absorb (think: your bath towels), avoid fabric softener.

Instead of fabric softener or worse yet, dryer sheets, I now use the Norwex Dryer Balls, which shorten drying time and leave my clothes just as soft as before…without adding harsh chemicals or synthetic fragrance to my laundry!

What are your thoughts on the topic?

~amb

If you are interested in cleaning up your laundry routine, try Ultra Power Plus Laundry Detergent and Dryer Balls. Contact me with questions or an order.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liz Martin on April 8, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I’ve been using Norwex’s laundry detergent for a few months now and the dryer balls as well. I really like how my clothes and towels feel using the Norwex products.

    This past week I was visiting friends and threw a couple of my clothes in with their laundry. They use dryer sheets and wow, I couldn’t believe how much I could feel the residue of the softener on my clothes. My clothes felt slippery; they didn’t absorb moisture. When I got sweaty during a workout I felt like my clothes didn’t wick any of the moisture off my skin.

    I’ve confirmed, once again, how much I LOVE using Norwex’s laundry detergent and the dryer balls–replacing normal fabric softener. There is no going back to normal fabric softeners for me!

  2. Liz,

    Thanks for sharing your experience! Isn’t it great that using products good for you and good for the environment work just as well or BETTER than the chemical-infused versions? Love it.

    ~Allison

  3. ʜello tɦere! Do you kknow if theey maκe any plugins to protect agɑinst hackers?
    І’m kinda paranoid avout losing еverything I’ve wworked hard օn. Anyy recommendations?

Leave a Reply

