So Fresh and So Clean, Clean

After you try Norwex and realize how great the products work, you will want to take good care of your new magic weapons. This post is all about how to clean your cleaning cloths. If you have a question of your own, leave a comment to this post and I will find an answer for you!

How often do you wash your enviro cloth/kitchen cloth/polishing cloth/mop pads/body cloths?

This is really a personal preference, but I usually wash my Norwex kitchen cloths, towels, and body cloths about once a week and everything else every other week. Norwex cloths can withstand over 500 washings, so they will certainly last a while! But because of the microfiber’s antibacterial feature, which means the silver agent in the cloths goes to work to clean itself, they don’t need to be laundered after each use. Just rinse and reuse! The fact that they are self-cleaning means they don’t stink, so I’ve often forgotten to wash them for weeks at a time, and no harm is done.

How do you wash your cloths? Is there anything special I need to know?

To wash, I throw everything in with my normal laundry (always avoiding bleach, fabric softener, and dryer sheets) and to dry, I just toss them into the dryer. I try to avoid washing the cloths with a very linty load (like very fluffy towels or blankets) because the extra-fine “fingers” in the microfiber cloths are designed to reach out a grab all those particles, so you’ll find yourself picking a bunch of  lint out of your cloths.

You said the antibacterial cloths aren’t supposed to stink, but mine do. Help!

Some soaps include enzymes that can block the naturally antibacterial silver-agent from properly working to clean the Norwex cloths. This can be prevented by using just water and your cloth–it’s all you need anyway! For washing dishes, use the netted dish cloth (instead of the kitchen cloths) with dish soap. However, if soap, fabric softener, or cleaning products come into contact with your Norwex cloths, you can save them! Just boil them in a pot of water on the stove for about 15 minutes. This disinfects them and releases those other enzymes that may have gotten trapped in your cloth.

I hope this information helps! If you have any other wonderings don’t hesitate to ask away. Any of you Norwex users have additional tips on how you use or care for your products? Please share by clicking “leave a comment” below the title of this post!

~allison

If you have a question but don’t want it posted publicly, just shoot me an email!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Eve on August 30, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    What if I wash my envirocloth and it still has a stain in it from cleaning? It still cleans just as well, but I don’t like the grey spot on it! What do you recommend to get the stain out?

  2. Hey Eve,

    I make my own stain treatment (2 T. Norwex laundry detergent and 1 cup water swished together in a spray bottle) for spots on my cloths or clothes or anything! I spritz that on a stain and rub the fabric against itself, let it sit for a little while and then launder like normal. It seems to work for me!

    I’ve heard the Norwex dish soap (or probably any dish soap?) on the spot can get out a stain as well and is better for your cloth than something like hand soap.

    Hope it helps!

    ~Allison

  3. Thanks…I will try that!

  4. Eve,

    Let me know if it works! Norwex has a pre-stain treatment we could try. I’ve never used it since that homemade concoction with the laundry detergent has always done the trick for me so far.

    ~Allison

Leave a Reply

