Quotable Quotes

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase. Just take the first step.”
–Martin Luther King Junior

To me, this quote reminds me that it’s okay to take baby steps. Find a chemical-free alternative to one household product. Substitute one healthy food for a not-so-healthy food. Choose one small way to love your environment, like carry groceries home in reusable bags. Don’t get paralyzed thinking it has to be all or nothing. Little by little is often the best pace for creating life-long habits and not flash-in-the-pan fads anyway.

My one step is washing up our apples as soon as we bring them home instead of right before I eat one. I’ve started cleaning our apples with my Norwex Fruit and Veggie Cloth and then putting them in the fruit bowl. Seems like no big deal, right? Well, it brings me a dose of joy (not to mention my apple consumption has increased) each time I’m free to reach for an apple and bite right into it, or throw it in my lunch bag knowing it’s already clean and ready to enjoy. Joy is in the small stuff, isn’t it?

So what does this quote mean to you? Is there a small step you’ve wanted to take? Or think you should take? Or have already taken? Do tell!

MLK image from here.

Leave a Reply

