Freebie For You: Stink-Free Kitchen Cloth

Be honest. Have you stood in your kitchen thinking, “What’s that smell?” only to discover it was the dish rag in your sink? Yep, me too. But it never happens anymore. And one lucky reader will be free of that distinct smell too since I’m holding my first ever giveaway today (more details at the end of this post)!

But first, more about the Norwex Kitchen Cloth. It works because it’s embedded with a silver agent, which is naturally antibacterial. So the cloth cleans itself, making it germ-free and stink-free within 24 hours. It’s perfect for wiping down counters, tables, stoves, refrigerators, and more.

The only thing that gets some people hung up at first is you shouldn’t use it to wash dishes. Using it with soap would block the silver agent from doing its thing, and then it could start stinking like a regular cloth. I love my Dish Cloth (or another small, netted scrubber) for washing dishes so the soap and food particles rinse right out. It’s worth it to ensure the cloth that you rub all over the counters and tabletop is clean. You’ll get used to it in no time.

If your Kitchen Cloth does get into soap and you notice a familiar stink, hope is not lost. Just boil the cloth in water for 10 minutes. This releases those enzymes and let’s the silver agent work as it should to keep your cloth stink-free and clean!

Normal care of the cloth is just to throw it in the laundry whenever you want (I know people who have gone months without laundering, but I usually wash mine every week or two) making sure never to use fabric softener, dryer sheets, or bleach on the cloth. Read more about why to avoid fabric softener here.

Ok, on to the giveaway! Read on to find out how to throw your name into the virtual hat and good luck!

  • PRIZE: One Norwex Antibacterial Kitchen Cloth
  • TO ENTER: Comment on this post with the words, “STINK FREE!” (by clicking “Leave a Comment” under the title of this post. No sign-up necessary.)
  • BONUS QUESTION: Tell me what you would make stink-free if you had all the power. Maybe it really is your dish cloth. Or your roommate’s sneakers? Your puppy’s breath? Your backyard? (This question is totally optional and while entertaining, won’t help or hurt your chances of winning the goods.)
  • GIVEAWAY CLOSES: Thursday, December 23rd at 9pm EST
  • PRIZE SHIPS: Anywhere in the United States
  • DETAILS: One entry per email address accepted. I’ll select a winner using random.org and announce the winner on the blog on Friday morning, so check back and good luck!
15 responses to this post.

  1. STINK FREE!!! 🙂
    I hate when I pick up my dish cloth and it stinks…making my hands stink. So, I’d love to try this! Thanks!
    I’d make the “country air” in the springtime around here stink free!!!! 🙂 Hate when I have the windows open and the manure in flying in the field around us! Could you fix that for me?! haha!!

  2. Posted by Kris on December 21, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I hate it when something in the refrigerator stinks! Would it help to place the cloth into the fridge! 🙂

  3. Deanna and Kris,

    I’m with you on hating those “stinks!” Norwex is innovative, but hasn’t solved those issues…yet. Haha!

    ~Allison

  4. Posted by Michelle Hillegass on December 21, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Stink Free!! I hate it when my farts stink, so if there is anything that helps that!! I have been using one of the mini cloths to wipe counters but then I could use that one somewhere else!

    Thanks Allison….have a great Christmas

  5. Posted by Jen on December 21, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    I already have the kitchen cloth that I really like, but I wanted to comment anyway 🙂 I hate it when our garbage disposal smells. There is nothing pleasant about it.

    Michelle – you are a brave woman for admitting that! 🙂 Maybe Norwex has some kind of room deodorizer? 🙂

  6. Jen, I’ve heard that if you don’t run the water long enough when using the garbage disposal it could cause the stink. If it already stinks a solution (I’ve never tried this) is to fill an ice cube tray with water and vinegar and after they’re frozen feed them to the garbage disposal while running water. It says the vinegar eliminates smell (that is true) and the ice sharpens the blades (who knows?!)

    Michelle, yes! Norwex makes a great Odor Eliminator. We have some in both bathrooms and it works like a charm! Also is great for spritzing into the bottom of trash cans when you’re switching bags.

  7. STINK FREE! I love Norwex!!!

  8. Posted by Elise G. on December 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Stink Free!!
    I had never heard of Norwex before stumbling on this page, but it sounds great!

  9. Posted by Elise G. on December 21, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Oh, and I would totally make the diaper pail stink free if I could!

  10. Posted by Mandi Capo on December 21, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Stink free!

  11. Posted by Mariko on December 21, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I hate how quickly my washcloths get so stinky. So I’d love a stink free norwex cloth! Although the baby body cloths got stinky after a while, and I had to wash them really well. But I put them in a tupperware with water and the washing machine detergent and it worked out very well, so it wasn’t bad. I still love my norwex 🙂

  12. Posted by Jen on December 22, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I’ll have to try that ice cube trick, Allison – thanks for the tip!

  13. Mariko,

    Glad it worked out! I’m guessing the body cloths got soap on them (maybe?), which blocks the silver agent from doing its antibacterial thing. You can soak them in boiling water for 10 minutes and could even add 1/4 cup vinegar to release the enzymes that are doing the blocking. Sounds like what you did worked too!

    It’s hard to use a body cloth without soap, even though the soap part isn’t needed with Norwex. I use the body cloth on my face and body first thing in the shower and then shampoo and soap up after I’ve put the body cloth away. That way I still get my soap fix, but it doesn’t get on the cloth. Not sure if that would work for you/Ethan or not.

    ~Allison

  14. Posted by Victoria Lester on December 23, 2010 at 7:16 am

    STINK FREE!

  15. Posted by Victoria Lester on December 23, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I’d make my bathroom toilet area stink free if I could.

Leave a Reply

