Cloudy With A Chance Of Phosphate?

When I come across something for the kitchen that isn’t dishwasher safe, I think twice eight times as long about buying it. Come on, do you do that too or does that make me lazy? I simply loooove my Energy Star dishwasher and all it does for me.

And lately I’ve been feeding it some healthy, good-for-Mother-Earth grub and it’s loving the new diet. I’ve been using Super Jet Automatic Dishwasher Detergent, which is a powdered detergent from Norwex. It’s phosphate, bleach, and ammonia free!

You just need one little tablespoon to get tough jobs done. That sure beats filling the whole little trap door with detergent like I used to do. And with soft water or a Magnet Ball (more on that later) you need even less. I’m going to experiment with less to see what still gets the job done. Since I have soft water I may need only 1/2 to 1 teaspoon. You’re using too much of this stuff if you get spots on your dishes!

Do you want another tip? Stop using your rinse aid! Yep, just stop yourself from putting it in and see what happens. If you have soft water you more than likely don’t need it. My dishes are crystal clear with no chance of clouds in sight and I haven’t used a rinse aid since switching to the Norwex detergent about 8 months ago.

If you have hard water the Norwex Magnet Ball will become your new best pal. Just put it in your dishwasher like it’s another dish and run the cycle like normal. The Magnet Ball jumbles up the particles of calcium in your hard water enough that they can’t settle on your dishes (which is what would make them cloudy). Nifty huh?

It even plays double duty since you can toss it into your washing machine too for the same soft water effect. That means you need less detergent in both machines. Hooray! So what’s your forecast? Any cloudy dishes or phosphate-laced detergent to say so long to?

Any other money or earth saving ideas for the kitchen? I’ve heard you can use straight up vinegar instead of a rinse aid, but I need neither so I’ve never tried it. Or what about running your dishwasher while you’re gone or while you’re sleeping? I never hesitated to do that but this post from a favorite blog caused me to question. What do you guys think?

Old timer dishwasher photo from here.

One response to this post.

  1. I’m debating about trying to the Norwex dishwasher detergent and after reading reviews I think i’m going to give it a try! Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

