Taking Care Of Norwex

The most common question I get is “How and how often do I wash my Norwex?” While there aren’t many hard and fast rules, you will find it’s not as mysterious as it first seems.

The Rules:

The two hard and fast rules are: 1) don’t use fabric softener on your cloths. It coats the cloths and will reduce their absorbency. 2) don’t use bleach or bleach alternatives on your cloths.

How Often:

Beyond those rules, remember that most of the Norwex microfiber products are antibacterial, meaning there is a silver-agent in the fibers of the cloth that eliminates the bacteria, hence leaving you with a clean cloth. You can tell if your cloth is antibacterial by checking for the word “Antibac” on the tag of the cloth. So a good rinse and wring after each use will keep most cloths good to go for a while before actually putting them through the washing machine. You don’t need to launder them after each use!


I tend to launder my cloths every few weeks, but I know many people who go much, much longer between launderings and that is just fine, especially if you use them with just water and not other soaps or cleaners.

Getting Out Stains:

If you see a stain on your cloth (maybe a grease stain or mascara mark) you can use a small amount of Norwex Dish Soap or other eco-friendly dish soap (to avoid the additives of a standard dish soap) on the spot, rub together, and rinse well. The Norwex Dish Soap is an excellent de-greaser and stain remover.

Oops, I used fabric softener:

If you accidentally used soap or fabric softener on your cloth and feel that it’s not working as effectively as it once did (maybe it now has an odor or it’s not as absorbent) you can boil them on the stove for 10-15 minutes. You can even add a dash of vinegar to the pot. A chant of Boil, Boil, Toil, and Trouble often helps with this recovery process too.

Giving your cloths a nice boil on the stove is a good maintenance measure too (not just for when you had an oops moment). Boiling your cloths 3-4 times a year should be plenty, although some people do this much more often since the process releases a lot of “stuff” that the cloth had trapped.

The Best Deep Cleaning Process:

And if even the boil didn’t bring your cloths back to mint condition? Try the Norwex Laundry Detergent. This is powerful stuff and a little goes a long way. Mix 2 T. of detergent with 6-7 cups of hot water in a bucket or sink and then soak the Norwex cloths for about 30 minutes. You can swish them all around in there too. Then rinse well with warm water, wring, and hang to dry. This is a great deep-cleaning method for stinky cloths or tough greasy stains.

Do you have a question about how to use or clean your Norwex product that I didn’t address? Leave it in the comment section of this post and I’ll do whatever I can to find an answer for you!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzanne on May 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    My husband put bleach into his dish water with my norwex cloth in it. Is it rendered useless now as an antibacterial?

  2. Oh no! I’m so sorry! Bleach is powerful enough to destroy the microfiber, causing the cloth to lose its antibacterial properties, but depending on how long it was in there, etc. etc. all might not be lost. First, boil it for 10-15 minutes. Then try using it like normal. If it stinks like a normal cloth after some use, the antibacterial feature isn’t working like it should. I’ve sent a request to the Norwex Head Office to see if there’s anything else that can be done. I’ll let you know if they have any other ideas. Good luck!

  3. Posted by Andrea on December 3, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    Hi! I know this is an old post, but wanted to see if you’ve heard of this situation. I use the Norwex Body cloths with no soap. I also use natural deodorant. When I first started using the body cloths, I was getting amazing results…not needing to reapply natural deodorant halfway through the dya, etc. Now it feels like the cloths are not working as well and I am back to the mid-day issues of my deodorant running out of steam. Just curious – maybe I will try soaking them in the Norwex detergent for 30 minutes. I did wash them on hot setting, but it did not help.

  4. Yes, I like the idea of soaking them in a concentrated bath of Norwex laundry detergent. The other thing I would try is to boil the cloths for 10-15 minutes which helps to “release” any build-up that may be blocking the cloths ability to work as well as they were originally. Good luck and let me know if it works!

  5. Posted by Lindsay H. on April 12, 2016 at 12:45 am

    I have super hard water and use water softener (borax and/or calgon) when washing absorbant materials such as towels and cloth diapers. Can I use water softener when cleaning the norwex cloths

  6. Yes, Lindsay, that will be fine. Water softener shouldn’t hurt your Norwex cloths at all!

  7. Posted by Laura on June 12, 2016 at 9:18 am

    My partners mother keeps washing out dishes using my enviro cloth.. With a bunch if dish soap.. When no one is home and the. The cloth sits in soap until I go to use it again and try to rinse it out.

    This has happened at least ten times, so I’m wondering if my cloth is ruined.

  8. Hi Laura! I have been there. First, I’d say start hiding your cloth! 😉 It shouldn’t be ruined though. I’d first soak it in a concentrate of the Norwex laundry detergent (or other natural, additive free detergent) for at least 30 minutes but up to a day. Then I’d wash it in the washing machine on hot, perhaps with an extra rinse. If it still seems stinky or not quite right, I’d boil it on the stove as described above. That should bring it back to its prime. If not, repeat and repeat. Hope this helps! Good luck!

  9. Posted by Joelle on June 18, 2016 at 6:13 pm

    Hi Allison! I have a situation. I went on a girls trip to FL and I came home to find that my hubby used my enviro cloth to clean his jet ski. He thought it was a rag – even though I’ve told him what it is several times! The worst part is he left it under the sink covered with dirt & pine sol. I rinsed out the cloth in hot water, then laundered it in norwex ultra power plus. The dirt is gone, but I can still smell the pine sol a bit. Is my cloth ruined?

  10. Hi Joelle! The great thing about Norwex is I bet it shined up his jet ski super well! But very frustrating, I know. I highly doubt it’s ruined though, so fear not. What you did was a great first step. To continue getting all the Pine Sol out of the fibers of the cloth, I’d recommend making a warm bath of water in a bowl with a scoop of the Norwex laundry detergent and letting the cloth soak in there for a few hours or up to a day. This should help release whatever it might be holding onto. Then I’d run it through a hot cycle in the washing machine again. If it’s still smelling after that, you could repeat the soaking process again or try boiling it on the stove for 15 minutes. You could even add a dash of vinegar to the boil. Good luck and let me know if none of that is working and we’ll keep brainstorming!

  11. Posted by Marsha Cruea on June 24, 2016 at 10:26 pm

    One of my norwex antibac cloths was left on top of the washer and got thrown in with a load of regular towels. Is it ruined ???

  12. No, it shouldn’t be ruined. Washing Norwex cloths with regular laundry is totally fine. You just don’t want to use fabric softener or additives like bleach. Were either of those used? If so, follow the steps in the post to clean it (soaking, boiling). If not, no harm done. If the towels were really fluffy perhaps the Norwex cloth grabbed onto a lot of extra lint but that can be picked out by hand or with a lint remover. Feel free to give some more details and I will try to help you further. Good luck!

  13. Posted by Gina on April 14, 2017 at 11:04 am

    Someone accidentally used my Norwack’s mop with chemicals. How should I clean my mop pad to get rid of the chemicals so that it is not ruined? I do have the Power Plus Soap.

  14. Hi Gina! First, I’d rinse the mop pad out as best you can. Then, I’d soak it in a tub with a concentrated amount of the laundry detergent – or the dish soap. I’d leave it in there overnight. At this point you could change the water and rinse it out and decide whether you should do one more soak in the same manner, or if it’s ready for the final step, which is washing the mop pad in the machine like normal. It should still work great!

  15. Hello Gina, Thanks for your help. I purchased a Kitchen cloth recently, and was told ‘never’ use Dawn dish soap, it will ruin the anti bac property of the cloth. I have been using Norwex cloths for years with no problems. I have never heard this from any representative before now.

Leave a Reply

