Suds For Me?

You know how you’re supposed to use that special detergent when you have an energy-efficient front-loading washing machine? Yep, you do. And thanks to my always questioning hubby, I’ve often wondered if that was a scam to get us to buy certain brands of detergent. Maybe a brand they have a relationship with?

Well, I finally figured it out! Likely not a scam. Maybe I’m the last person to know this but the reason special HE (high-efficiency) detergent is recommended is because it has special suds depressor added to it. Apparently if it’s too sudsy in there, a front loader can’t get the laundry as clean or rinsed out well since it uses up to 80% less water than the regular washing machines do. Interesting, right? Just to me? Hmm, okay.

Not only do I enjoy little tidbits of info, but it also made me smile because my friend Norwex makes an easy-on-the-environment and friendly-to-your-even-sensitive-skin detergent that’s not super sudsy. I always knew it worked well in front loaders (even though I didn’t have any until recently) but just never understood the why of the matter.

Norwex creates its not-so-sudsy detergent (Ultra Power Plus Laundry Detergent) because the ingredients added to create all those suds are often the ingredients that are super hazardous and harsh on you. And that’s as true when it comes to your shampoo as it is your dish soap. So Norwex doesn’t add ’em!  Note: this doesn’t mean all HE detergents are automatically environmentally friendly though.

So here’s a little virtual fist bump for the laundry detergent I already used and loved working wonderfully in the super-fun-to-use front loaders. Yes, I just admitted laundry is kinda fun. Especially since I use a whooping 1/2 teaspoon of detergent for each large load. Purty cool, yo.

What about you? Do want to punch me since I said laundry is fun? Does it boggle your mind that 1/2 teaspoon of powder gets the job done? Do you have front loaders? Want front loaders? Are you one to question the motives of big businesses like my dear husband? Can you not imagine living without the suds? Do tell.

HE detergents from here.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Darci on February 12, 2013 at 11:37 am

    Hi~ So are you desolving the powder first for your HE front loading machine or just adding it directly in the drawer?

  2. Hi Darci,

    I’ve always just added the powder directly to the drawer and it’s worked great! No dissolving necessary.

  3. Posted by Darci on February 12, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Fabulous! I”m getting ready to try it for the first time and really didn’t want to take the added step every time of dissolving first. Thanks so much for the quick response, I really appreciate it and am off to do my first load! 🙂

  4. You’re going to love it!

Leave a Reply

